When asked if Thor: Love and Thunder left the possibility of a sequel, Hemsworth said: Hemsworth has portrayed Thor, a founding member of The Avengers, for the last 11 years, starring in four standalone films and five separate MCU films, including The Avengers and a short cameo in Doctor Strange. Being among the actors with the longest-running tenure with the MCU, Chris might finally hang up the cape, as he’s suggested that the next Thor film will probably be his last. The 39-year-old actor recently discovered that he’s predisposed to Alzheimer’s disease. In the same interview, Hemsworth expressed that he’s done with “mad genius” directors, as he explains, “I’m just at the point of my life where I’m meeting with different directors and [people say] ‘Oh yeah, look, he’s a mad genius. He’s mad, but he’s a genius and he’ll make great films. I’m like, ‘Is that who I want to spend my days with?’ Four months, five months of shooting and then you’ve got press and possible reshoots and so on.” Hemsworth is set to star in the upcoming Mad Max spin-off, Furiosa. The Thor actor heaped praise on George Miller, saying, “Now, if something’s going to pull me away from my family and my kids, it’s got to be a positive, constructive, collaborative experience. I shot with George Miller…and I said to my agent, ‘That’s where I want to spend my work hours; with someone who is kind and collaborative and interesting.’” His upcoming projects include Furiosa, the prequel to Mad Max: Fury Road, which is set to release on May 24, 2024, and Extraction 2, the sequel to the first film of the same name which is scheduled to release next year.

Chris Hemsworth will return to Thor only if his story is completed - 26Chris Hemsworth will return to Thor only if his story is completed - 27Chris Hemsworth will return to Thor only if his story is completed - 97Chris Hemsworth will return to Thor only if his story is completed - 84